Monday, October 26, 2009

Burlesque -- I Don't Get It

Two of my gal pals are really, REALLY in to burlesque. I guess it has had a bit of a revival. They have even taken burlesque classes and performed routines at the class "recital." They invited me to take a new series of classes with them, and I have just had to say no.

Honestly, I just don't get it. I know they see this as empowering...both of them being women of some size who have for years felt unattractive and un-sexy, they find this as a way to claim something they feel lacking in their lives. But I'm not sure this is really the way to go about it. Burlesque (in my mind) promotes the treatment of women as objects...a betassled commodity for male consumption. I suppose there might possibly be something positive there, but I don't see it. And I don't mean to hurt their feelings, but I just can't join them in their exploration of burlesque and all the joys (???) it has to offer.

So...thanks, but no thanks. Just...no.